Daily Archives

June 6, 2018

Unexpected Evening Rain Ends Big Diamond ‘Anthracite Assault’ With 49 Modifieds Registered

By | News | No Comments

MINERSVILLE, PA – A forecast of isolated afternoon showers never materialized on Tuesday at Big Diamond Speedway.

Unfortunately evening rain – which had not been predicted – did.

Just as the pre-race drivers’ meeting concluded, the skies opened up in Minersville, prompting the cancelation of the ‘Anthracite Assault’ Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco event at the speedway.

The pit area was packed with a field of 49 STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds for what was to have been the only combined Halmar International North Region and Velocita-USA South Region event of 2018 for the series.

Modifieds were set to go 50 laps for $5,000 to win, $1,000 for 10th and $400 to take the green flag.

Rain continued on and off in the area throughout the night.

“This was by far the best field we have had for this event,” noted STSS organizer Brett Deyo. “The diversity, quality and quantity was there. We thought we were in the clear for the night and by all forecasts racing should have gone on.

“We apologize to everyone but this came as a surprise to all of us.”

There were 20 STSS Sportsman registered at the time of the precipitation. The XCel 600 Modifieds were scheduled to complete the tripleheader show in a tour race.

With no immediate rain date available (Wednesday was a hotbed for local graduations in the area so the speedway was to be silent), all those in the pit area and grandstand areas were offered cash refunds.

Drivers in both the STSS Modifieds and STSS Sportsman will receive an additional 25 bonus points toward their season-long totals for attending.

The summer schedule for dirt Modified racing is jam-packed with events so no rain date was evident at the time of the cancelation.

Big Diamond promoter Jake Smulley and STSS organizer Deyo will carefully review the remainder of the 2018 schedule to see if there are any opportunities to make the event up. If not, it will definitely be part of the track’s 2019 agenda.

Next up for the STSS is the ‘Outlaw Showdown’ at Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, N.Y., on Wednesday, June 20 racing for 50 laps and $5,000 to win, $1,000 for 10th and $400 to take the green flag. This is a return to Outlaw after an absence of a year. Crate 602 Sportsman and Street Stocks will complete the program.

Big Diamond Speedway is a three-eighths-mile clay oval located in Minersville, Pa., just miles from Pottsville. The facility offers free parking, state-of-the-art concession areas and restrooms and not a “bad seat” in the house, with hillside grandstands overlooking the on-track action. The speedway GPS address is 392 Forest Lane Pottsville, PA 17901. The official website is www.bigdspeedway.com.

To learn more about the 2018 Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, Allstar Performance, ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Fast Axle, Fox Racing Shocks, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, HyperCo, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Land Hoe Maintenance, K&N, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, QA1, Race Pro Weekly, Racing Optics, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, Vahlco, Velocita, Weld & Wilwood.


‘Anthracite Assault’ STSS Modified Registered Drivers

1 – Billy Pauch
1H – Jared Umbenhauer
1J – Jordan Watson
1K – Rick Laubach
1Y – Frank Yankowski
2 – Billy Van Pelt
2A – Mike Gular
3 – Billy Lasko
3 – Tommy Meier
3 – Mat Williamson
4 – Andy Bachetti
6 – Danny Bouc
6 – Matt Stangle
6H – J.R. Hurlburt
6NN – Nick Nye
9s – Matt Sheppard
14s – Craig Von Dohren
14W – Ryan Watt
15 – Mike Lisowski
15 – Brett Tonkin
16X – Danny Creeden
17z – Brian Krummel
19K – Brett Kressley
20C – Craig Hanson
25 – Erick Rudolph
26 – Ryan Godown
32 – Brandon Grosso
33 – Mike Mahaney
43 – Jimmy Horton
44 – Anthony Perrego
44 – Stewart Friesen
44 – Doug Manmiller
46 – Jeremy Smith
48 – Jerry Higbie
61 – Justin Grim
66g – Bobby Trapper
67 – JR Fulper
69 – Bob Trapper
77K – Ryan Kunkle
81 – Heath Metzger
91 – Billy Decker
96 – Billy Pauch Jr.
97 – Jimmy Reppert
118 – Jim Britt
119 – Brian Malcolm
126 – Jeff Strunk
323ov – David Van Horn
357 – Duane Howard
401 – Frank Cozze

‘Anthracite Assault’ STSS Sportsman Registered Drivers

0 – Kevin Brady
2 – Brian Mady
4 – Nate Klinger
X5 – Daryl Dissinger
11 – Dylan Smith
16 – Brandon Kuhn
16 – Ryan Higgs
19 – Brad Brightbill
19 – Shawn Light
22J – Chris Jordan
31 – Mike Mammana
58 – Louden Reimert
77X – Nick Mady
80 – Dominic Roselli
84Y – Alex Yankowski
99 – Craig Whitmoyer
112 – Cale Ross
357x – Tim Fitzpatrick
830AM – Brad Arnold
924 – Brian Houseknecht